Almost the New Year.

It’s been a while since I’ve written.  I’m the same weight — 215 pounds.  I have been running on Saturdays only.   I’ve been on vacation this week and it has been so nice to watch movies and relax.  Yesterday I saw the new Star Wars in the theater.

I’ve been pretty sedentary during the week.  Today I went on a 9-mile bike ride around town with my family.  It was fun and got the endorphins going. I don’t usually make New Year’s resolutions but I feel inspired to make some this year.  My goals for 2016:

  1. Stay active – train for races, run with friends, join Galloway for 2016.
  2. Mind my own business.  (Do not involve myself in unhealthy extended family dramas).
  3. Be kinder to my family and friends — Especially my immediate family who I tend to snap at at times and lose patience.
  4. Refrain from gossip.
  5. Read more books.
  6. Plant more flowers.
  7. Spend more time with friends.
  8. Plan more date nights with husband.
  9. Try new recipes.
  10. Redo some rooms in the house and organize closets.
  11. Complain less. Appreciate more.
  12. Lose 40 pounds by counting calories on MyFitnessPal and focusing on good nutrition.

In the midst of some extended family turmoil (I have a close family member with substance abuse, and I have involved myself in an unhealthy situation.) I am very optimistic for 2016.  I know that I can open my door or close my door whenever I need to.  I can create healthy boundaries.  I  can be mindful and I have choices.  I know that I have the power to create my own life and can leave the drama behind.  I am so incredibly thankful for my husband who is calm and steadfast and sees the big picture. My children are wonderful. I have many great friends.  I have so much to be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

